Skip to content

CPA requirements · Pathways

The 150-hour routes and the newer, lighter routes

Four of the five states we cover have enacted or proposed a route built on a bachelor's degree plus more experience, sitting next to the traditional 150-hour route. Each state's wording, status and dates below are its own. Last verified Oct 15, 2026.

The trade-off, in plain words

The classic deal: about 150 semester hours of education — a bachelor's degree plus extra credits or a master's — and one year of supervised experience. The newer deal in several states: fewer credit hours (a bachelor's degree can be enough), but two years of supervised experience instead of one.

Which fits whom is not ours to say — it depends on where you are in school, how quickly you can gather credits, and what your work situation allows. What we can do is show exactly what each state requires, on which date, so you can ask your board the right questions.

Florida note: Florida's 120 semester hours qualify you to sit for the exam only. The Florida licence still requires 150 semester hours — the board's pages show no bachelor's-plus-experience route.

Route by route, state by state

Degree-plus-experience routes vs 150-hour routes — Oct 15, 2026
State · groupRoute (state's own label)StatusEducationExperience
California — newer routesNew licensure pathway (AB 1175, 2025)Starts Jan 1, 2027Bachelor's degree or higher; 24 accounting hours; 24 business hours; 3 ethics hours2 years (reduced with a master's or a recognized certificate)
California — 150-hour routeLegacy 150-unit routeEnds Dec 31, 2028150 semester units; 20 accounting hours; 10 ethics hours1 year
Texas — newer routesPathway B — bachelor's degree, 120 semester hours and two yearsCurrentBaccalaureate degree; 120 semester hours; 27 accounting hours; 24 business hours; 3 ethics hours2 years
Texas — 150-hour routePathway ACurrent150 semester hours; 30 accounting hours; 24 business hours; 3 ethics hours1 year
New York — newer routes120-Semester Hour Pathway with Two Years of ExperienceStarts Nov 21, 2026A bachelor's in accounting or business with at least 24 semester hours of accounting — or a master's in accounting or business with at least 21 accounting hours; 120 semester hours; 27 accounting hours; 30 business hours2 years
New York — grandfathered route (closing, not the new one)Grandfathered 120-hour routeEnds Jul 31, 2027120 semester hours2 years
New York — 150-hour routes150-hour routeEnds Jul 31, 2027A New York registered CPA-150 program, an AACSB-accredited accounting program, or an equivalent program; 150 semester hours1 year
150-hour route — CPA Evolution ModelStarts Aug 1, 2027A registered CPA-150E program or an equivalent program; 150 semester hoursNot stated by the board
Florida — 150-hour routeLicensureCurrent150 semester hours; 30 accounting hours; 36 business hours2,000 hours
Illinois — newer routes2027 route, option 1 — bachelor's in accounting, two years of experienceRules not finalBachelor's degree in accounting; at least 120 semester hours2 years
2027 route, option 2 — master's degree, 24 accounting hours, one year of experienceRules not finalMaster's degree in any field; at least 120 semester hours; 24 accounting hours1 year
2027 route, option 3 — bachelor's degree, accounting and business hours, one year of experienceRules not finalBachelor's degree in any field; at least 120 semester hours; 24 accounting hours; 24 business hours; 3 ethics hours1 year
Illinois — 150-hour routeCertificate requirements (Option #4)Current150 semester hours; 30 accounting hours; 24 business hours; 3 ethics hoursNot stated by the board

Full requirement lists, sources and last-checked dates are on each state's page.